This is the "Reference" page of the "Reference Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reference Resources  

Last Updated: Feb 22, 2016 URL: http://cabrillo.libguides.com/Reference Print Guide RSS Updates
Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ReferenceSearch: Databases

ReferenceSearch
Limit Your Results
 

Reference Resources: Websites

Reference Resources

Search *selected reference websites

Collections of Reference Works

  • *Bartleby.com -- Rich collection of reference sources, language reference, & literary works, including: Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, Roget's Thesaurus, Strunk's Elements of Style, Fowler's English, Emily Post, etc.
  • Reference: Ready Reference -- From the Internet Public Library
  • Virtual Reference Shelf -- From the Library of Congress

Almanacs

Biographical Sources (see also Biography Resource Center database)

Calculators

Chronologies & Timelines

  • *Anyday -- Extensive listings of birthdays, deaths, & historical events
  • On This Day -- Top news stories & events, from the BBC
  • On This Day in History -- Headlines, top shows, songs, birthdays, & more
  • *This Day in History -- Historical events, from the HistoryChannel
  • HyperHistory Online -- Click on Events (on the left); then select a sequence of years (on the right); no date-specific searching available

Dictionaries (see also Oxford English Dictionary database)

Directories: Businesses & Individuals

Directories: Businesses Only

Directories: Other

Encyclopedias (see also Britannica Online Encyclopedia database)

Oddities

Opinion Polls

Quotations

Thesauri

Translation & Language Tools

  • Babel Fish -- Translates text and web pages to & from 13 languages
  • Google Language Tools -- Searches & translates text or web pages to & from 10 languages
  • Shodouka -- Service that enables display of websites with Japanese language characters, even for PCs that are not set up to display the Japanese alphabet

Subject Guide

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip