Skip to Main Content

ENGL 1A Leal

3. Find Sources in the Library Databases

Remember:  LIBR 10 Module 10 covers how to search and cite in the Library databases.

While you can search everything at once in OneSearch, sometimes it is easier to search one individual database.

Watch the videos below and then use your keywords to find sources one of these individual databases:

  • Opposing Viewpoints background information on controversial topics
  • CQ Researcher  comprehensive reports on controversial topics
  • Academic Search Complete  scholarly articles on a wide variety of topics​
  • ProQuest National Newspapers free full-text access to newspapers such as the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.

Find Sources

  1. Watch the video below
  2. Search for sources in Opposing Viewpoints  using your keywords
  1. Watch the video below
  2. Search for sources in CQ Researcher using your keywords

  1. Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database with journals, magazines, and newspapers on almost any topic. A good place to start your research!

  2. Search for sources in Academic Search Complete using your keywords. Limit your results to full-text.

​

newspapersFind News Sources at Cabrillo:

  • OneSearch search everything in OneSearch and limit to "Newspaper Articles"
  • ProQuest National Newspapers includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and many other newspapers (see the video below)
  • Google News free online newspapers

Find News Sources at Santa Cruz Public Library

Login with your SCPL Library Card (how request a library card online)

  • America's Newsbank  includes Santa Cruz Sentinel (1999-present) and San Jose Mercury News (1985-present) and San Francisco Chronicle (1985-present)

Polls & Statistics

graph and map displaying statistics

  • Public opinion on different issues
  • Demographic data -- age, race, ethnicity, gender, socioeconomic status -- as well as housing, employment, health, and many other topics
  • Includes current and historical data
  • Numbers can be used to tell a story 

Find Polls & Statistics: