Last Updated: Jan 23, 2017
NOTE: Policy institutes and think tanks often promote a politically partisan point of view with the intent to influence government policy. The information they contain needs to be evaluated for bias before being used in academic research.
- Center for Public Education
The Center for Public Education provides up-to-date research, data, and analysis on current education issues and explores ways to improve student achievement and engage public support for public schools.
- Center on Education Policy
The Center on Education Policy is a national, independent advocate for public education and for more effective public schools.
- Education and the Arts (RAND Corporation)
The RAND Corporation's research on pre-K, K-12, and higher education covers issues such as assessment and accountability, choice-based and standards-based school reform, vocational training, and the value of arts education and policy in sustaining communities and promoting a well-rounded community.
- Education and Child Policy (Cato Institute)
Cato’s education research is founded on the principle that parents are best suited to make important decisions regarding the care and education of their children. Cato researchers seek to shift the terms of public debate in favor of the fundamental right of parents and toward a future where government-run schools give way to an independent system of schools competing to meet the needs of American children.
- Education (Brookings Institution)
The economic and political well-being of any society requires a well-educated citizenry. Brookings’s work has extended beyond the K-12 bookends to include preschool interventions, higher education and the challenges of education in developing countries. Experts are tackling fundamental issues on the role of education in the national and global economy.
- Education (Center for American Progress)
The Center for American Progress is an independent nonpartisan educational institute dedicated to improving the lives of Americans through progressive ideas and action.
- Education Commission of the States
The Education Commission of the States tracks state policy trends, translates academic research, provides advice and creates opportunities for state leaders to learn from one another.
- Education Next (Hoover Institution)
The Hoover Institution's education journal.
- Great Lakes Center for Education Research & Practice
The mission of the Great Lakes Center for Education Research and Practice is to support and disseminate high quality research and reviews of research for the purpose of informing education policy and to develop research-based resources for use by those who advocate for education reform.
- The Hunt Institute
The Hunt Institute's mandate is to inspire elected officials and key policymakers to make informed decisions that result in improving the lives of all children through quality education.
- ECAP (Early Childhood and Parenting) Collaborative
The Early Childhood and Parenting (ECAP) Collaborative is home to a number of projects that focus on educating and raising young children. ECAP hosts research, technical assistance, and service projects.
- Early Years are Learning Years
A repository of short articles designed for parents and other adults involved in the care and education of children on a daily basis. Managed by the National Association for the Education of Young Children.
- Almanac of Higher Education 2014
The Chronicle of Higher Education's 27th annual collection of data on colleges answers perennial questions like how much faculty make and which colleges are growing the fastest. This year's Almanac also gives you new ways to compare institutions. Which colleges have the most students enrolled in online courses? Which have the highest percentages of nonresident aliens? Browse the charts and tables in these sections to find out.
- The Condition of Education (NCES)
This website has the key indicators of the condition of education in the United States. These indicators summarize important developments and trends using the latest statistics and are updated as data become available.
- Digest of Education Statistics
A compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
- Education Counts (Education Week Research Center)
The Education Counts database contains more than 250 state-level K-12 education indicators, many spanning multiple years. Included are data collected for Education Week's annual reports, Quality Counts and Technology Counts.
- Kids Count Data Center
A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT provides data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics on the KIDS COUNT Data Center that support smart decisions about children and families.
- National Assessment of Educational Progress
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas. Assessments are conducted periodically in mathematics, reading, science, writing, the arts, civics, economics, geography, U.S. history, and beginning in 2014, in Technology and Engineering Literacy (TEL).
- National Center for Educational Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- Report Card on American Education
A comprehensive overview of educational achievement levels, focusing on performance and gains for low-income students, in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Select "Download PDF" to view the report.
- World Data on Education
Detailed and systematized information on the education systems of selected countries, with an emphasis on curricula and curriculum development processes.