DH Hint 1DH Hint 2DH Hint 3DH Hint 4DH Hint 5
This is the "DH Hint 2" page of the "Course-Related Instruction" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Course-Related Instruction  

Last Updated: Jan 17, 2017 URL: http://cabrillo.libguides.com/libraryinstruction Print Guide RSS Updates

DH Hint 2 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Topic A

Exercise 2 - Topic A

For a presentation to your fellow students, you would like to find some journal articles about dental problems associated with methamphetamine use. Using a health/medical database, identify some articles on this subject that are available full text. On your Word document, write a correctly format-ted APA citation for one of the articles you find.

1. Using a health/medical database The library offers a variety of databases, some of which are health and medical related

  1. Go to the Cabrillo College Library homepage
  2. Under Find, click on Articles and Databases
  3. Click on Health and Medicine, then select CINHL PLUS with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

Go to Advanced Search. Click in the checkbox next to Full Text. Your search should look like this:

Advanced

The asterisk ( * ) after the letters dent means that any word that begins with those letters will be retrieved, e.g.., dentist or dental.

2. From the results list, select an article. Click on the article title to get full information about it. Notice that you can click to do various things with the article: print it; email it; even get a citation for it!!

3. Go to your Word document and write a citation for the article. Include the author, title, publication name, date of publication, pages, and the name of the database, e.g.:

Romero, Maria. "Meth use among college students," Journal of Drugs, Feb. 2011, pages 234-238, CINAHL PLUS.

 

Topic B

Exercise 2 - Topic B

For a presentation to your fellow students, you would like to find some periodical articles about dental care for children among groups that are low income. Using a medical database, identify some articles on this subject that are available full text online. On your Word document, write a correctly formatted APA citation for one of the articles you find.

1. The library offers a variety of databases, some of which are health and medical related

  1. Go to the Cabrillo College Library homepage
  2. Under Find, click on Articles and Databases
  3. Click on Health and Medicine, then select Medline

Go to Advanced Search. Click in the checkbox next to Linked Full Text. Your search should look like this:

Advanced

2. From the results list, select an article. Click on the article title to get full information about it. Notice that you can click to do various things with the article: print it; email it; even cite it!!

3.Go to your Word document and write a citation for the article. Include the author, title, publication name, date of publication, pages, and the name of the database, e.g.:

Romero, Maria. "Dental visits among low-income students," Journal of Dentistry, Feb. 2011, pages 234-238, Medline.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip