This is the "CAHM 20" page of the "CAHM 20" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CAHM 20  

Last Updated: Apr 25, 2013 URL: http://cabrillo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=349392 Print Guide RSS Updates

CAHM 20 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CAHM 20

Nutrition

 

 

Getting to this page:

  • Go to the Library home page ( www.cabrillo.edu/services/library)
  • Under Library Classes, click on Course Related Instruction, then click on the CAHM 20 link
1. Nutrition Research Assignment

Your research paper assignment includes finding three peer reviewed, fully referenced journal articles or government publications. Click here for your list of research topics.

You must also include a bibliography with citations to your sources at the end of your paper, using MLA style. Click here for a brief guide to MLA format, produced by the Cabrillo College Library.

2. Finding Full-Text Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

Let's take a look at two databases, Academic Search Complete and Health Source Nursing / Academic

  • From the library homepage (www.cabrillo.edu/services/library):
  • Under Find, click on Articles and Databases
  • Click on the Health & Medicine category, try either Academic Search Complete or Health Source Nursing / Academic
    • Sample searches:
      • phytochemicals AND human nutrition
      • dietary supplements AND (legislation or regulation)

In most databases, you can either limit your results before clicking on search:

ebsco pre-limit

or after you get your results back from the database:

One of the most powerful search tools is called Boolean searching, a fancy way of saying you can use AND, OR, and NOT logic.

Narrows a search, requiring more than one condition to be present. Broadens a search, used with synonyms or equivalent concepts. Narrows a search by excluding one or more terms. Use with caution...

Some search examples:

  • salmonella and produce
  • (sodium or salt) and diet
  • (tobacco or smoking) and (hispanic or latin*)

What else can you do besides read an article on the screen?

3. Finding Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles in PubMed

The PubMed database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, includes citations to millions of articles from life science journals, for many of which the text of the articles is also available at no charge.

  • Go to www.pubmed.gov
    • Enter your search terms and click on Search
    • On the search results screen, select some of the limiting filters on the left:
    • Under Text Availability, click on Free Full Text Available
    • Under Publication Dates, click on 5 Years
    • Under Languages, click on English
    • Under Article Type, click on More and check the boxes next to Case Reports, Classical Article, Introductory Journal Article, and Review (and unclick any other boxes)

Once you select an article to view, you will see the abstract, and will sometimes need to hunt for a link to the free text of the article. Sometimes it will be a link on the right side of the screen, sometimes buried under the LinkOut - More Resources link at the bottom of the abstract.

4. Using Google to Find Government Research

Google can be used not only to search for everything available via Google, but to search for specific types of information. Some options available using Google:

  • Get only results from a government website by including site:gov in your search:
    • phytochemicals site:gov
  • Find only results where your terms are in the exact order you typed by using "quotes" around your terms:
    • "vitamin e"
  • Find results matching either of two or more terms:
    • "dietary supplements" legislation OR regulation
  • Exclude a topic from your Google searches, using a minus (-) sign:
    • pesticides -agriculture
  • Or, use any combination of these:
    • "food safety" -pregnancy legislation OR regulation site:gov

5. Evaluating Internet Information

Anyone can publish on the Web. Does that mean that anyone can produce good, reliable information? It is very important to evaluate what you find. In searching the web, you want to use resources that are not only current (if necessary) and relevant to your topic, but also from reliable, believable sources. This is especially true when searching for health or nutrition information, as there are many, many sources of questionable information on the internet. Ask yourself questions like:

G. Romero, 4/13

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip