CG 205 - Academic Survival Skills
To get to this page on the Internet
- Go to the Library home page ( www.cabrillo.edu/services/library)
- Under Find, click on Research Guides, then under Counseling click on the CG 205 - Jara link
|Tour of the Library Home Page|
Let's take a brief look at the "virtual" Library, the Library's homepage, at www.cabrillo.edu/services/library:
- On the main page, you will find:
- Our current hours and Contact Information
- Useful information and announcements
- A link for getting a new semester network account
- Under Find, you can find many things, including:
- Books, Videos & More (the library catalog)
- Textbooks/Reserves (to find copies of textbooks available to borrow for two or four hours, occasionally longer)
- Articles and Databases (search thousands of magazines, newspapers, etc.)
- Research Guides (Internet links on lots of subject areas)
- Under Use, you will find information about using the library's services:
- Get a Library Card (in person info and online application)
- Computers/Wireless (details about our computers, and how to connect to the campus wireless network)
- Printing (instructions for using the student printing system, available in the library, the Watsonville ILC, and elsewhere)
One more thing - if you have any classes at the Watsonville Center, you have several additional library resources available to you. In the Integrated Learning Center, you will find over 200 Reference books (encyclopedias, specialty dictionaries, and more), many course reserve textbooks for classes taught in Watsonville, several hundred additional books for students to borrow, and a librarian available for questions and assistance at least 20 hours weekly during Fall & Spring semesters.
|Using the Library catalog to find books and videos|
Most library catalogs today share the same basic construction: a place to search for a specific author, a place for a specific title, a general keyword (or word) search, a specialized subject heading search, and other more specialized searching options. If you become familiar with one library's catalog, you should be able to use nearly any other library's catalog, too!
OK, now think of a topic you would like to find some information about. Make sure the topic is not too broad (Medicine) or too narrow (curing toothaches with clove oil), otherwise you aren't likely to find information on your topic in our library catalog.
Remember: Library catalogs are not "smart" like Google, so you usually need to start with one or two words for your search. Using too many words (or trying to use complete sentences) will get you zero results in most library catalogs!
From the Cabrillo College Library homepage (www.cabrillo.edu/services/library):
- Click on the Books, Videos & More link on the left
- Search in Keyword, for a broad general search
- Type in a few words that describe the topic you are interested in
- Look at some of the titles from the results list
|Searching for periodical articles|
Although the library still receives around 150 print magazines & newspapers, most of our periodicals are now found online, in numerous databases. Databases range from large academic databases covering most subject to smaller specialized databases covering one subject or one type of information. Let's explore!
From the Cabrillo College Library homepage:
- Click on Articles and Databases
- Click on one of the following databases (from off-campus you would need to enter your library card barcode number at this point):
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints - try a search on gun control
- America History & Life - try a search on police and demonstrations
- ArtStor - try a search on santa cruz murals
|Selected study skills resources on the Web|
- Study Guides and Strategies -- From the Univ. of St. Thomas.
- Study Skills Guides -- From College of St. Benedict/St. John's University
Updated 9/17 G. Romero