This is the "Home" page of the "CG 51 - International" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CG 51 - International  

Last Updated: Oct 30, 2012 URL: http://cabrillo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=367552 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Exercise

CG 51 - International

name__________________________

Find Books in the Library
  1. Go to the Cabrillo College Library homepage <http://libwww.cabrillo.edu> 
  2. Under Find, click on Books, Videos, and more
  3. Type a topic into the search box

Look up a topic of interest to you -- maybe your home country.

________________________________________

The library has over 28,000 electronic books. These are books you can read on your computer. To get access only to the electronic books

  • From the Cabrillo College Library homepage, click on Articles and Databases
  • Click on EBSCOhost eBook Collection. If you are off campus, type in your library card number.

Search the electronic books using a topic of interest to you. Once you have the book on the screen, click to eBook Full Text. Pretty amazing! What did you find?

____________________________________________________

____________________________________________________

Play around a bit. Try searching inside one or more electronic books. Get a sense about how you can actually use these electronically accessible books as resources.

 

 Find Articles in Magazines


Academic Search Premier provides access to information about articles published in approximately 8,000 periodicals.  For just over half of those, full text copies of the articles are in the database. 

  • From the Cabrillo College Library homepage, click on Articles and Databases
  • Click on Academic Search Premier
  • Click on Advanced Search and then enter keywords or terms related to your topic



    With this advanced search screen, you can most efficiently search more than one term at a time.
  • Click on the little box next to the word Full Text to limit your search to full text articles on the database. 


  • Type in your search terms and hit the SEARCH button. For example, here's a search for full text articles about Monterey Bay otters



    From the results list, click on the article title to get to the screen with more information about it.


Use Academic Search Premier to identify a periodical article on a topic of interest to you.

  

Article title_________________________________________________________________

Periodical title (look where the screen says Source


 ______________________________________________ 

Date of periodical__________________ 


Find Newspaper Articles


Proquest National Newspapers
is a database that includes articles from the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and The Christian Science Monitor

  1. From the Cabrillo College Library homepage, click on Articles and Databases
  2. Under News, click on Proquest Newspapers

Find an article on a topic of interest to you.

Title of article ____________________________________________

Newspaper ______________________________________________ 

Date of article _________________________ 

Notice that you can email the article, and even click to get a citation for it.

 

A. Zagorska & TNS; rev. 9/2011.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip