This is the "Home" page of the "Sociology 2" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology 2  

Last Updated: Oct 30, 2012 URL: http://cabrillo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=376377 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research

Contemporary Social Problems

 

Where this page is on the Internet

  1. Go to the Cabrillo College Library homepage <http://www.cabrillo.edu/services/library>
  2. Under Library Instruction, click on Course-Related Instruction
  3. Click on Sociology 2 
  4. Bookmark/Favorite this page for quick access

Rules of the road: 1. If you want, you can open up a Word document to write your notes instead of writing on this handout. 2. To manage what you find today, you'll probably email stuff to yourself. 

STEP ONE Developing Ideas -- Background Information

Before you begin researching, it is important to get oriented to the topic. This helps you think through ideas, and develop a list of the important words and phrases associated with what you want to research.

CQ Researcher provides research on dozens of social issues each year. Included is a comprehensive review of the subject; historical background; chronology of important events; opposing views from experts; and extensive bibliographies for additional research. International topics are also covered.

  1. From the Cabrillo College Library homepage
  2. Under Find, click on Articles and Databases
  3. In the General category,click on CQ Researcher (from off-campus, you will need to type in your library card number to gain access)

Using the Search function, you can probably identify information in CQ Researcher about your topic. 

NOTE: You can email these articles! Even parts of these articles! Look for

You can also click to cite the article! Click on CiteNow, then choose APA.

Opposing Viewpoints is another excellent place to start. Do this:

  1. From the Cabrillo College Library homepage
  2. Under Find, click on Articles and Databases
  3. In the General category,click on Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
  4. You can limit your results to Academic Journals.

Other good resources:

STEP TWO-- Ways to narrow

There are various ways you can narrow your topic. Think about how one or more of these frameworks might limit your topic:

  • Location(s)
  • Time Span/Era
  • Event
  • Specific Group(s)

STEP THREE -- You're ready to look for more specific information!

For periodical articles, use Academic Search Complete, which is a very, very large academic periodicals database, primarily consisting of articles from scholarly publications.

  1. Go to the Cabrillo College Library homepage
  2. Under Find, click on Articles and Databases
  3. In General, click on Academic Search Complete
  4. On the next screen, click to go to Advanced Search 

  5. Click in the little box next to full text, so you retrieve full text articles,and the box next to Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals, so you can restrict your results to articles from scholarly publications.
  6. Type in your search terms and hit Search.
  7. From the results list, click on an article title to get to the screen with full information about it

When you have the article on your screen, you can print, email, or cite it! 

Web searches -- it's important to evaluate what you find!

Google does what it calls blended or universal searching. When you do a Web search, Google simultaneously searches others of its databases, including Google Scholar (periodical articles) and Google Books (Google's database of millions of digitized books). 


Statistics
-- You will probably want to look up statistical information for your research topic.

A lot of statistical resources are on the Web. To get to many of them

  1. Go to the Cabrillo College Library homepage
  2. Under Find, click on Research Guides by Subject
  3. Click on Statistics

The resources you will probably use the most are under California Statistics and U.S. Government Statistics (e.g., Census Bureau).

CLIKS Online Data provides regional profiles, graphs, maps and raw data on topics related to children. Want rates of teenage pregnancy by county -- that's here! Another good source is Regional Indicators Website.

Researching and writing an academic paper

------------------------------------------------------------------

Mik Moore, T. Smalley; E. Hinkley, rev.10/2010

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip