Digging Deeper, Focusing Topic
You will probably need some focused discussion about specific topics, e.g., community dental health, preventive dentistry, controversies about fluoride. Remember, you need your Library Card Number to use the databases from off-campus.
Academic Search Complete - provides access to information from journal articles. This database provides Full text articles (you can view the entire article in the magazines and journals for the last 10-15 years.
If you do not limit to "full text" you will also get the results with just citation information and abstracts (short critical summaries by the authors) only, not the article itself. So, if you want the entire article right now, click the box for "full text"
Working with a reference librarian, you can request articles. Interlibrary Loan.
Here's how you use
Academic Search Complete
- Go to the Cabrillo College Library homepage
- Click on Articles and Databases [from off campus, type in your library card number]
- Click on the first link for Academic Search Complete
- On the next screen, click to go to Advanced Search
- Click in the little box next to full text, so you retrieve full text articles only.
- Now type in your search terms. After looking at your results list, you may want to limit to more recent date.
From the results list, click on an article title to get to the screen with full information about it
Volume, Issue, Date of publication
When you have the article on your screen, you can print, email, or cite it, choosing APA style!
2. Other health and medical databases
There are a number of databases listed under Health and Medicine. Select one or more and explore it/them for articles of interest to you.
- Alt-HealthWatch -Provides full text articles from over 180 international journals, reports, and other sources covering non-traditional healthcare.
- CINAHL PLUS with Full text - Provides indexing for over 3000 journals in nursing and allied health, plus full text for over 300 journals.
- Consumer Health Complete - Provides full text from more than 550 consumer health related periodicals, hundreds of health reports, and full text for more than 250 health reference books and encyclopedias.
- EBSCOHost eBook Collection - The complete text of over 150,000 titles in varied subject areas.
- Health Source Nursing/Academic - Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, and includes the Clinical Pharmacology database.
- Medline - Provides abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals, including citations from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and more.
- PLOS ONE - Free resource from the Public Library of Science, contains scholarly scientific articles.