This is the "Exercise" page of the "Communication Comm 1 Gentile" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication Comm 1 Gentile  

Last Updated: Oct 29, 2013 URL: http://cabrillo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=390117 Print Guide RSS Updates

Exercise Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Comm 1

Comm 1 - Public Speaking

Getting to this page:

  • Go to the Library home page ( www.cabrillo.edu/services/library)
  • Under Library Classes > Course Related Instruction > Comm 1 Gentile

Name_______________________________________ March __, 2013

A persuasive speech attempts to change or reinforce peoples' thoughts, feelings, or actions. In giving a persuasive speech, you are acting as an advocate -- encouraging or discouraging certain thoughts and actions based on good research and good reasoning. You need to:

  1. Choose a topic
  2. Research your topic -- find facts and arguments
  3. Use Monroe's Motivated Sequence as your organizational pattern
  4. Learn about delivery of your speech

Still looking for a topic? Here are some helpful sites to explore!

  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context-- From the Cabrillo College Library homepage, click on Articles and Databases, then select Opposing View Points in Context
  • CQ Researcher: Go through the same steps as above and select CQ Researcher. Over on the left hand column, try clicking on Pro/Con, which gives you a list of questions on specific topics!

    Here's the result of a search for domestic violence:

    Note that you can email the report to yourself. You can also get a citation for it. 

  • ProCon.org is another good resource

Selecting a Topic  by Nan Peck from Northern Virginia Community College

Begin your research: find background information

Other good resources for background information about many topics:

Finding Books

Libraries come in all sizes and flavors, from a 10,000 volume small branch public library to a 10 million volume university library. To use a library catalog most effectively, you want to tailor your approach to the size and kind of library it is. With smaller libraries and public libraries, your best bet is often to use a broad general search via Keyword, or Word, or similar options. Using a large research library effectively, however, typically requires using official Library of Congress Subject Headings, as well as other available searching tools. Of course, no matter what tool you are using, a good search is an iterative one: search with the information you have, learn something (terms, spelling, concepts, etc.), then search again.

The Cabrillo Library Catalog contains records for over 80,000 items, including print books, electronic books, videos and DVDs, and other materials.

Go to the Cabrillo College Library homepage and click on Books, Videos, and more. Do a search on your topic.


Your notes ________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________


Finding Periodical Articles

The Library provides access to many online databases, collections of magazine articles or other information. The two largest databases are Academic Search Complete and MasterFILE Premier -- both containing the full text of articles from thousands of publications, plus summaries and indexing for thousands more.

  • From the library homepage ( www.cabrillo.edu/services/library/):
  • Under Find, click on Articles and Databases
  • Under the open General category, try either Academic Search Complete or MasterFILE Premier
    • Sample searches:
      • yosemite and discovery
      • dietary supplements AND (legislation or regulation)

Use one of these databases to identify at least one periodical article on your topic. From the results list, click on the article title to get to the screen with more information.

Article title_____________________________________________________________

Periodical title (look where the screen says Source)

__________________________________________________________________

Date of periodical_______________

When you have the article on your screen, you can print, email, or cite it!

Finding Newspaper Articles -- National Newspapers

Cabrillo's largest newspaper database is ProQuest Newspapers, which includes NY Times, LA Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and Christian Science Monitor.
  1. From the Cabrillo College Library homepage, click on Articles and Databases
  2. Under News (scroll down), click on Proquest Newspapers

Find an article on your topic.

Article title_________________________________________________________

When was it published?_________________________________

Again: there's an email feature. And you can also click to get a citation.

Your notes ________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________

Statistical and Background Information

Use CREDO Reference to search over 500 dictionaries and specialized encyclopedias from one search interface.

From the library homepage, select Articles and Databases, then select CREDO Reference. Here's a sample search:

You can also find links to many sources of statistical information on the Internet, using the library's Statistics Resources page, under Research Guides by Subject.

Your notes____________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________

Look for Web Sites on Your Own

Google can be used not only to search for everything available via Google, but to search for specific types of information. Some options available using Google:

  • Get only results from a government website by including site:gov in your search:
    • scholarships site:gov (also useful: site:edu, site:org)
  • Find only results where your terms are in the exact order you typed by using "quotes" around your terms:
    • "vitamin e"
  • Exclude a topic from your Google searches, using a minus (-) sign:
    • pesticides -agriculture
  • Or, use any combination of these:
    • "food safety" -pregnancy site:gov

Search for Web sites that would be useful to researching about some of topic of interest to you.

Make notes below about 3 quality Web sites you find.

1. URL____________________________


_______________________________________________________________


_______________________________________________________________


_______________________________________________________________


2. URL____________________________

_______________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________

3. URL____________________________

_______________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________

Finding Videos

You're probably aware that the Web has videos galore. In addition to the fun videos, there are thousands of videos that can be useful in researching or learning about a topic. The main sources of videos are: Blinkx.com (includes a lot of stuff from TV), Google Videos (more dependable quality than YouTube), and, of course, YouTube

Writing Your Citations

When you research a topic, you are likely to find and use many different sources, and different types of sources. Any quote you use, or concept you refer to from a source, should be referenced in the body of your report. The resources you actually use in your research paper are the ones that you should list at the end of your report. This list of resources is sometimes referred to as a bibliography, sometimes as a works cited list. The intent of this list is not just to show your instructor (or publisher) where you obtained your information, but also allows anyone reading your report to duplicate your research and find the sources you reference in your report. So, what information is necessary to include? And how do you format your quotes and your mentions of other works?

Style guides are sets of "rules" that explain what specific information to include, how to list sources, any special punctuation standards, and so on. Different fields of study typically use different style guide. For instance, English and literature classes typically use the MLA (Modern Language Association) style guide, and social science classes typically use the APA (American Psychological Association) style guide. You can find links to information on these and other style guides on the Citation & Style Guides page of the library's Research Guides by Subject.

Remember that many of the databases you use offer you access to citations with a single click -- EBSCOhost databases, CQ Researcher, Proquest Newspapers, for example.


Transfer an Image from the Web to a Word Document or PowerPoint presentation

The Web is rich in images, and it's useful to know how to capture an image and transfer it to a Word or PowerPoint document. Go to one of these sources of photos and select an image.


Go to Google, Corbis.com, or GettyImages.

One of the easiest places to find images is Google, not surprisingly. You can do a Google search on your topic, then click on the Images link at the top left of the page.

  • First, find a good image to use
  • Right click on the image. Scroll down to Copy
  • Go to your Word or PowerPoint document. Position your cursor to where you want your image to be.
  • Right click, and Paste the image
  • Under (or near) the image, type the word Source and include the title of the Web site and its URL (credit your sources!)

Your image is there, in your document. You can make the image larger or smaller, but you often end up with distortions, especially as you stretch it to enlarge it.

 

Delivery Links

Speech Anxiety

"The only difference between the pros and the novices is that the pros have trained the butterflies to fly in formation." - Edwin Newman

Generally on delivery

Using Visual Aids

Monroe's Motivated Sequence

Making an Argument

Fallacies



S. Gentile and T. N. Smalley; rev. 6/2012 G. Romero, 10/2012 emh

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip