This is the "Home" page of the "English 100 - Puente Program" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English 100 - Puente Program  

Last Updated: Oct 30, 2012 URL: http://cabrillo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=393647 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Engl 100

Elements of Writing - Puente Program

How to get to this page on the Internet

  1. Go to the Cabrillo College Library homepage <www.cabrillo.edu/services/library>
  2. Under Library Instruction, click on Course Related Instruction
  3. Click on ENGL 100 - Puente Program 

Tour of the Library -- The webpage (and more)

Let's take a brief look at the "virtual" Library, the Library's home page, at libwww.cabrillo.edu:

  • On the main page, you will find:
    • Several useful links
    • Our current hours and Contact Information
  • Under Find, you can find many things, including:
    • Books, Videos & More (the library catalog)
    • Textbooks/Reserves (to find copies of textbooks available for 2-hr loans)
    • Articles and Databases (search thousands of magazines, newspapers, etc.)
    • Research Guides by Subject (Internet links on lots of subject areas)
  • Under Computers, you can find:
    • Information about our computers and available software
    • A link to get your computer network account 
    • Printing information
  • Under Using the Library, you will find:
    • Apply for a Library Card (online application)
    • Borrowing Information (details about what you can do with a library card)
    • Renew Books Online (you don't even need to come in)
    • Ask A Librarian (send us a question via email!)

Finding Books in the Cabrillo Library Catalog -- A good place to start

Finding a book on a topic is often the best way to begin researching a subject. In addition, you can often find books targeting the level you're looking for: beginning, or advanced.

From the Cabrillo Library home page:  

  • Click on Books, Videos & More
  • Try a Keyword search, for a broad general search:
    • immigration and mexico
    • migrant and education

Finding Articles in Databases

The Cabrillo Library provides access to many different databases, covering articles in numerous subject areas. Most databases include fulltext articles which you can read on your computer, although some databases also include articles for which you can only view a summary abstract of the article.

Here are three very good databases to use for finding background information on a topic. To get to these databases, from the library home page (www.cabrillo.edu/services/library), under Find, click on Articles and Databases. (From off-campus you will need to enter your library card barcode number after selecting a database.)

Academic Search Complete

  • Very large database, covering thousands of publications in many subject areas
  • Includes both full-text articles and summary articles

CQ Researcher

  • Excellent source of long public policy and social issue articles
  • All articles are full-text

Credo Reference

  • Good collection of hundreds of background reference sources, encyclopedias, and other topical works
  • All articles are full-text

 

Database Searching Tips

  • Don't include "noise" words like of, from, why, to, etc. in your search!
  • Use the main concepts from your idea in your search, and combine terms with AND or OR operators:
    • If you want to find information on pesticides used in strawberry fields in California, this could be your search: pesticides and strawberries and california

Internet Search Engines

Search engines are powerful websites for looking through very large portions of the Internet. Each search engine provides its own collection of tools and techniques for searching the Internet.

  1. Begin at the Google search engine website ( www.google.com)
  2. Type your search terms in the dialog box
  3. Click on the Search button
  4. Tips:
    • Don't include "noise" words like of, from, why, to, etc. in your search!
    • Use the main concepts from your idea in your search:
      • If you want to find information on pesticides used in strawberry fields in Watsonville:
      • This could be your search: pesticides strawberry watsonville
    • On your search results screen, click on Show search tools to see other ways to narrow your search

Local Information Sources

Local newspapers are some of the best places to look for local information:

G. Romero; 10/2011

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip