Selecting a Topic & Background Information
- CQ Researcher - Includes original in-depth analysis of the most current major and controversial issues of the day.
- CREDO reference - Articles from hundreds of reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - Includes a variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical articles, primary sources, and more.
You need to type in your LIBRARY card number to access these databases off-campus.
General Information Databases
Academic Search Complete - Full text for nearly 9,000 primarily scholarly publications, and indexing for an additional 13,000 titles. Starting with "Advanced Search" you can limit articles to Full Text, Scholarly Journals, and then slide the Publication Date bar to get the most current articles.
Gale Biography In Context - Detailed biographical information from numerous Gale Group sources, plus links to external information.
Gale Literary Databases -- Includes the full text of Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography, and significant selections from Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Literature Resource Center - Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Newspaper Source Plus - Provides cover-to-cover full text for over 200 national and international newspapers, and selected full text for more than 700 regional U.S. and international newspapers.
ProQuest Newspapers - Contains the complete text of the following newspapers: NY Times, LA Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor.