This is the "Getting Started" page of the "ENGL 100 Jones" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 100 Jones  

Last Updated: May 5, 2015 URL: http://cabrillo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=589831 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

FIND BOOKS, VIDEOS, AND MORE

Quick Search

 

HOMEWORK

1.  Library Card Application  You need a library card to access databases from home, checkout laptops, use textbooks on reserve


2.  Network Account  You need a network account to use Cabrillo computers or Wi-Fi on campus.


3.  Printing Account.  You can add money to your printing account at print pay stations located in the Watsonville CTC, the Aptos CTC, or the Library.   For more information watch this Video on How to Print.

 

ENGL 100 ASSIGNMENT ESSAY 3: SPORTS & ATHLETES

What is the main argument for the sports-related article you read?  What is the position your are trying to argue in this paper?  What are your main points and observations so far?  

  • Find and use a new and separate article
  • Your new article MUST be a scholarly source from our library databases
  • Describe the arguments made in the article you found.  Do you agree or disagree?
  • Print out your article and attach it to the final draft
  • All titles, authors and quotes must be copied, incorporated and punctuated correctly using MLA citation

 

 

LIBRARY ASSIGNMENT: OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS DATABASE

1.  Find an article in Opposing Viewpoints

  • Go to the  Opposing Viewpoints database
  • Select Browse Issues.  Look for "Athletes & Sports"
  • Pick one article that provides additional information for your essay
  • email yourself the article

2.  Create in-text and works cited list MLA citations

  • Find the MLA citation for your works cited list
  • Cite one interesting fact you learned from this article using MLA citation
 

LIBRARY ASSIGNMENT: ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE

1.  Find an article on Sports & Athletes in Academic Search Complete

  • Go to the Academic Search Complete  database
  • Type Sports OR Athletes into the search box.  Change to a Subject search
  • Add additional keywords (gender, racism, mascots, gay athletes, college athletes, PEDs...)
  • Limit your search to full text and recent articles
  • Pick one article that provides additional information for your essay
  • Print the article

2.  Create in-text and works cited list MLA citations

  • Create a MLA citation for your works cited list
  • Cite one interesting fact you learned from this article using MLA citation

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Michelle Morton
Contact Info
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Stacy Mueller
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip