This is the "Websites" page of the "History Websites and Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History Websites and Books  

Last Updated: Oct 12, 2016 URL: http://cabrillo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=625014 Print Guide RSS Updates

Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended Websites

General Websites 

Best of History Web Sites -- Categorized links to hundreds of evaluated sites

History Net -- From Weider History Group

Internet Modern History Sourcebook -- Broad collection, from Fordham University

Local History

Regional History Project-- Collection of oral histories and how to research from UCSC Library
Santa Cruz County Local History -- Over 300 articles from Santa Cruz Public Library
Santa Cruz Mountains -- Santa Cruz regional history from Hwy9.com

U.S. History

Africans in America Resource Bank Index -- From PBS Online and WGBH 
North American History Research Guide -- From Rutgers University 
American Indian Links -- From CSU Long Beach 
American Memory Project -- Historical collections; from the Library of Congress 
Avalon Project -- Documents in law, history, & government for U.S.; from Yale
BlackPast -- Articles & links, covering African-American history  
Digital History -- Information & links, from the University of Houston
From Revolution to Reconstruction -- American History site from colonial period to present, from University of Groningen
History and Politics Out Loud -- Collection of "politically significant audio materials for scholars, teachers, & students"
History Matters -- U.S. History survey course for teachers and students, from CUNY and George Mason Univ.
Making of America -- American social history, primary sources from antebellum through reconstruction.
Presidential Timeline -- Information on all presidents from Herbert Hoover to Bill Clinton
Slave Trade: Clash of the People -- Timeline and links to authoritative sources of information

International History

Europeana -- Cultural collections, searchable in 29 languages. Explore 53,104,978 artworks, artifacts, books, videos, sounds from across Europe
EuroDocs -- Primary historical documents from Western Europe
HLAS -- Handbook of Latin American Studies, from Library of Congress 
Internet Resources for Latin America -- From New Mexico State University Library 
Labyrinth -- For Medieval studies; from Georgetown University
Latin American Network Information Center Includes regional resources and country pages, from U of Texas, Austin
Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe -- Covering every 100 years from AD 1 to AD 1700
Perseus Digital Library -- From classical to 19th c .American collections; from Tufts University
The Story of Africa -- Rich, detailed site, from the BBC

Chronologies & Timelines

Anyday -- Extensive listings of birthdays, deaths, & historical events
On This Day -- Top news stories & events, from the BBC
On This Day in History -- Headlines, top shows, songs, birthdays, & more
This Day in History  -- Historical events, from the HistoryChannel
HyperHistory Online -- Search People, History, Events, and Maps for different time periods.

Professional Organizations

Scholarly Societies Project -- History Societies 
American Historical Association --Founded in 1884, the AHA includes teaching resources for all periods/geographic areas

Society of Historians of the Early American Republic

Organization of American Historians

Cabrillo College History Department

History Department Home Page 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Eve Hinkley
Contact Info
Send Email

Blogs and Online

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip