FOR WEBSITES CONSIDER...
Consider the source--Use recognized authorities. Know who is responsible for the content.
Focus on quality--All Web sites are not created equal. Does the site have an editorial board? Is the information reviewed before it is posted?
Look for the evidence--Rely on research, not opinion. Does the site identify the author? Does it rely on testimonials?
Check for currency--Look for the latest information Is the information current?
Beware of bias--What is the purpose? Who is providing the funding? Who pays for the site?
Source: MedlinePlus Guide to Healthy Web Surfing 2014
MLA CITATION: WEBSITES
- Best of History Web Sites -- Categorized links to hundreds of evaluated sites
- History Reference -- From the Internet Public Library
- Internet Modern History Sourcebook -- Broad collection, from Fordham University
- Africans in America -- From PBS Online and WGBH
- American Memory-- From the Library of Congress
- Avalon Project -- Documents in law, history, & government from Yale University
- BlackPast -- Articles & links, covering African-American history
- Digital History -- Information & links, from the University of Houston
- From Revolution to Reconstruction -- From the University of Groningen
- History Matters -- From CUNY and George Mason University
- Making of America -- Primary sources on American social history from antebellum through reconstruction.
- POTUS -- Presidents Of The United States, includes Inaugural Addresses, election results and documents from IPL2
- Presidential Timeline -- Information on all presidents from Herbert Hoover to Bill Clinton
- Europeana -- Cultural collections, searchable in 29 languages
- EuroDocs -- Primary historical documents from Western Europe
- HLAS -- Handbook of Latin American Studies, from Library of Congress
- Internet Resources for Latin America -- From New Mexico State University Library
- Labyrinth -- For Medieval studies; from Georgetown University
- Latin American Network Information Center Includes regional resources and country pages, from U of Texas, Austin
- OnlineEncyclopedia for Medieval Studies - From City University of New York
- Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe -- Covering every 100 years from AD 1 to AD 1700
- Perseus Digital Library -- From classical to 19th c .American collections; from Tufts University
- The Story of Africa -- From the BBC
Chronologies & Timelines
- American Memory Timeline - From the Library of Congress
- On This Day -- Top news stories & events, from the BBC
- On This Day in History -- Headlines, top shows, songs, birthdays, & more
- This Day in History -- Historical events, from the HistoryChannel
Wikipedias: Pros & Cons
|Worlds largest encyclopedia with millions of entries on obscure topics||Articles are not edited or peer-reviewed|
|Great place to start & identify keywords||
Many instructors will not allow Wikipedia citations because they are not not edited or reviewed
|Updated regularly, sometimes by the second||Articles get vandalized for ideological reasons or just for fun|
|Can include excellent references & external links||Can be skewed or biased -- based on authors interests, beliefs, opinions|
|Anyone can edit Wikipedia -- the people's encyclopedia!||Anyone can edit Wikipedia -- no one checks their credentials or agendas|