Annotated Bibliography
This is the "Citing Sources" page of the "HIST 17B Buelna" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 17B Buelna  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2017 URL: http://cabrillo.libguides.com/hist17bbuelna Print Guide RSS Updates

Citing Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

MLA CITATION GUIDES

MLA Style Guide -- Quick guide from the Cabrillo College Library (.pdf file)
MLA Style Guide -- Detailed guide from Research & Documentation Online

 

MLA CITATION: IN-TEXT CITATION & WORKS CITED

Papers using MLA citation must include 1) a works cited list and 2)  in-text citations.

In-Text Citations

When you quote, paraphrase, or reference another authors ideas you must use In-Text Citations that include the author's name and a page number.  In-Text Citations alert your reader that you are citing or paraphrasing another authors ideas.  The authors you cite in your in-text citations are also listed at the end in your works cited list.  Here are two ways to create in-text citations using MLA style:

Include the author’s (or editor’s) name directly in the text of the sentence.

According to Roenneberg, “the Swedish botanist Carl von Linne constructed a flowerbed in his garden that served as a clock” (247).

Omit the author’s name in the sentence, but cite the name plus the page number in parentheses at the end of the sentence

 

“The Swedish botanist Carl von Linne constructed a flowerbed in his garden that served as a clock, using the specific times of day when different plants opened and closed their flowers” (Roenneberg 247)

For detailed information about creating in-text citations for different kinds of sources, see Hacker's Resource and Documentation or your LIBR 10 Handbook.

Works Cited List

Your Works Cited List includes all the works you have cited in your paper -- your sources.

 

MLA Research Paper: Example

 

CHICAGO/TURBIAN CITATION: FOOTNOTES & BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Papers using Chicago/Turbian citation must include:

  1. notes within the text of your essay (footnotes or endnotes)
  2. footnotes at the bottom of the page or endnotes at the end of the essay
  3. a bibliography at the end of the essay listing all of your sources

Notes:  Footnotes and Endnotes

Use the tool bar in Word to insert footnotes or endnotes

 

The first time you cite a source, include the full citation information

1. Peter Burchard, One Gallant Rush: Robert Gould Shaw and His Brave Black Regiment (New York: St. Martin’s, 1965), 85.

For subsequent references include the author’s last name, a short form of the title, and the page or pages cited

 

4. Burchard, One Gallant Rush, 31.

For detailed information about creating notes for different kinds of sources, see Hacker's Resource and Documentation.

 

Bibliography

Your bibliography should list all the works you have cited in your notes.

For detailed information about creating bibliographies, see Hacker's Resource and Documentation.

 

Chicago/Turbian Research Paper Example

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip