GOOGLE SEARCH TOOLS
Consider the Source - Know who is responsible for the content.
Focus on quality - All Web sites are not created equal. Does the site have an editorial board? Is the information reviewed before it is posted?
Look for the evidence - Rely on research, not opinion. Does the site identify the author?
Check for currency - Look for the latest information Is the information current?
Beware of bias - What is the purpose? Who is providing the funding? Who pays for the site?
- Center for Research & Education on Gender & Sexuality
- The Kinsey Institute
- Sexuality Education Lesson Plans
- Sexuality Information and Education Council of the U.S.
- Society for Human Sexuality
- Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality
- Society for Sex Therapy and Research
Sexually Explicit Materials, Prostitution, and Sex Laws
- American Civil Liberties Union - This organization protects our First Amendment rights as they relate to issues in this chapter, such as cyber liberties, free speech, lesbian and gay rights, same-sex marriage, privacy, censorship, and reproductive rights.
- National Coalition Against Censorship - An alliance of 50 national nonprofit organizations, including literary, artistic, religious, educational, professional, labor, and civil liberties groups. United by a conviction that freedom of thought, inquiry, and expression is a fundamental human right and essential to a healthy democracy.
- Prostitutes’ Education Network - This site provides information and resources related to prostitution.
- Stop Demand - “Promotes a world free of all forms of sexual violence against, and sexual exploitation of, children with a particular focus on challenging the demand for sex with children.”
- Stop Sex Trafficking - “…creating awareness, instilling activism, and working towards the abolition of this problem so that everyone in the United States is aware of sex trafficking and is empowered to take ownership of putting an end to it.”
- U.S. Department of Justice - Contains statistics and information on child pornography on the internet.
- The World Sex Guide - “prostitution related information about most countries of the world. Many articles were originally posted to the usenet newsgroup alt.sex.prostitution and have subsequently been archived here, others were sent in by email. Every prostitution-related resource on the Internet should be accessible from here.”
Sexual Function Difficulties, Dissatisfaction, Enhancement, and Therapy
- Adult Sexuality Web - "Developed to help couples improve their sexual relationships and lovemaking skills. Experts agree an essential element of a strong, intimate relationship is a healthy and satisfying sex life.”
- American Association of Sexuality Educators, Counselors, and Therapists (AASECT)- A nonprofit interdisciplinary organization providing excellent resources and links to other websites.
- FSD Alert - Promotes an alternative view of female sexual difficulties, challenges the pharmaceutical industry, and calls for further research on female sexual difficulties.
- Sexual Dysfunction Association - “Raising awareness to sexual functioning and wellbeing and providing information and education on male and female sexual problems.”
- Sex Therapy Online - “…created to bring clients together with the finest sexologists and sex therapists in the world.”
- Society for Human Sexuality - This website contains links to information on enhancing one’s sexual pleasure.
Sexual Body in Health and Illness
- American Sexual Health Association (ASHA)
- CDC - Sexual Health
- Eating Disorders Awareness and Prevention, Inc. - “EDAP’s website offers online treatment referrals, public prevention and awareness information, educational programs, videos, curricula, conferences, workshops, a newsletter, and a national speaker’s bureau.”
- Harvard Center for Cancer Prevention - This site provides information on many types of cancer, as well as questions to help individuals estimate the risk for 12 different cancers.
- His and Her Health: Cutting Edge Medical and Sexual Health News - This link contains information and links to many issues about sexual health.
- My Life With ED - “Read the story of one woman’s battle with anorexia and take a tour through her virtual art gallery and poetry collection.”
- National Institutes of Health -- Reproduction & Sexual Health
- SexQuest’s Web Index for Sexual Health - “When we speak of sexual health, we are considering it in all of the dimensions that health encompasses: physical (our bodies), mental or intellectual (our thinking), emotional (our feelings), social (our relationships to others), spiritual (our sense of principles and ethics), and environmental (our relationship to the global ecological community).”
- World Association for Sexual Health
Variations in Sexual Behavior
- National Coalition for Sexual Freedom - “The NCSF is committed to creating a political, legal and social environment in the US that advances equal rights for consenting adults who engage in alternative sexual and relationship expressions. The NCSF aims to advance the rights of, and advocate for consenting adults in the BDSM-Leather-Fetish, Swing, and Polyamory Communities.”
- Community Academic Consortium for Research on Alternative Sexualities - "Dedicated to the support and promotion of excellence in the study of alternative sexualities, and the dissemination of research results to the alternative sexuality communities, the public, and the research community.”
- Society of Janus - “SOJ is a not-for-profit, all volunteer, San Francisco-based education and support organization devoted to the art of safe, consensual and non-exploitative BDSM.” Educational material is provided to dispel myths.
- The Other Side of Desire - A downloadable NPR audio interview with Daniel Bergner, author of The Other Side of Desire. From the website: “Bergner has written a complex and difficult book about four people who have a paraphilia, a longing that exists outside the norms dictated by society. This is a challenging discussion that touches on issues like the differences in sexual expression between men and women and how the medical community treats the people who have a paraphilia.”
- AllPsych Online: Paraphilias- Offers information on numerous psychiatric disorders, including symptoms, etiology, treatment, and prognosis for paraphilias and sexual disorders.
- American Psychiatric Association: Paraphilia - Provides information on the APA’s classification of paraphilias and paraphilic disorders with highlights of the changes in the latest version of the DSM.
- WebM: Paraphilia - Describes common paraphilias and provides a search for paraphilia information.
Sexual Orientation, Transgender, & Intersex
- Bisexual Research Center (BRC)
- Gay and Lesbian Medical Association (GLMA)
- The Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network (GLSEN)
- International Lesbian and Gay Association
- Intersex Society of North America
- Transgender Tapestry & The International Foundation for Gender Education
- World Professional Association for Transgender Health