Annotated Bibliography
This is the "Annotated Bibliography" page of the "HS 15 Human Sexuality" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HS 15 Human Sexuality  

Last Updated: Sep 6, 2017 URL: http://cabrillo.libguides.com/hs15 Print Guide RSS Updates

Annotated Bibliography Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

WHAT IS AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) description and evaluation of the source -- the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

For HS 15 you will be required to find and annotate 3-5 sources. 


THE PROCESS

Creating an annotated bibliography calls for the application of a variety of intellectual skills:  concise writing, succinct analysis, and informed library research.

First, locate and record citations to books, articles, and documents that may contain useful information and ideas on your topic. Briefly examine and review the actual items. Then choose those works that provide a variety of perspectives on your topic.

Second, cite the book, article, or document using the APA citation.

Third, write a concise annotation that summarizes the central theme of your source.  Include:

  • An evaluation of the authority or background of the author
  • A comment on the intended audience
  • Explain how this work illuminates your research topic

SAMPLE ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRY FOR A JOURNAL ARTICLE

Research Topic:   Disabilities and Sexuality

Valvano, A., West, L., Wilson, C., Macapagal, K., Penwell-Waines, L., Waller, J., & Stepleman, L.

     (2014). Health Professions Students' Perceptions of Sexuality in Patients with Physical Disability.

     Sexuality & Disability, 32(3), 413-427 15p. doi:10.1007/s11195-014-9347-7

Valvano et al surveyed 479 health professional students from a variety of field to examine views on the sexuality of patients with disabilities.  The authors are doctors of psychiatry, psychology, mental health, health studies, and biostatistics.  They found a range of attitudes and training, with psychology students reporting the leats amount of training to address this issue and dentistry students reporting the most negative views.  The authors note that sexual health is fundamental to overall health, and people with disabilities face a higher "probablity and magnitude of such difficulties" (p. 414).  Without training health professionals feel unprepared to address the sexual health of patients with disabilities or base advice on personal, cultural, and religious beliefs.  Based on these conclusions Valvano et al suggest expanding sexual health training for health professionals.  This paper is relevant to my project because it shows prejudices faced by people with disabilities and how even health professionals lack training to address their needs in sexual health.

Source:  Adapted from  “The Annotated Bibliography.”  Research & Learning Services, Cornell University Library

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip