This is the "DH 161" page of the "DH 160 & 161" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

DH 160 & 161  

DH 160 & 161: Oral Health Education & Preparation for Dental Hygiene Clinic
Last Updated: Sep 15, 2014 URL: http://cabrillo.libguides.com/dh160dh161 Print Guide RSS Updates
DH 161 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Dental Hygiene Research

Dental Hygiene Research

How to get to this page

  1. Go to the Library home page ( www.cabrillo.edu/services/library)
  2. Under Library Instruction, click on Course Related Instruction, then click on the Dental Hygiene Research link

Open a Word document. Put your name at the top and the date (right justified). Make Dental Hygiene Research your heading, bold and center it. Number the exercises. As you do these exercises, you will be going back and forth between the Web and your Word document.

Pick one of these topics to research

Topic A -- People who use methamphatamines present distinctive challenges to dental hygienists.What do dental hygienists need to know about meth users and what's being called "meth mouth?" Topic B -- In working with immigrant communities, particularly those that are Latino, what does the dental hygienist need to know about oral health for Latino children?

Browse Additional Oral Health Topics:

Oral Health Topics (The American Dental Association)

Oral Health Topics (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health)

Community Information Database (Santa Cruz Public Library)  Do a keyword search for dental to find local resources

EXERCISE 1 Find a specific document on the Web

Topic A: To get oriented to the topic, you'd like to find something at the American Dental Association Web site (ada.org) about dental problems associated with the use of methamphetamine. What are the oral effects of methamphetamine?

Topic B: You have heard that Hispanic children are at greatest risk for having no dental care during the preceding year. You've been told this information is in a report that is on the Internet as a pdf file. Among rural children, what percentage of Hispanics had no dental visit the previous year?

See the Hints page for Exercise 1.


EXERCISE 2
Find articles

Topic A: For a presentation to your fellow students, you would like to find some journal articles about dental problems associated with methamphetamine use. Using a health/medical database, identify some articles on this subject that are available full text. On your Word document, write a citation for one of the articles.

Topic B: For a presentation to your fellow students, you would like to find some periodical articles about dental care for children among groups that are low income. Using a health/medical database, identify some articles on this subject that are available full text online. On your Word document, write a citation for one of the articles.

See the Hints page for Exercise 2.


EXERCISE 3: Find PowerPoints

Topic A: You're a volunteer at a teen center. You want to create a presentation for a group at the center about methamphetamine and its effects on teeth. To get ideas, you'd like to find some PowerPoints on the subject. Search for some, and select two. On your Word document, give the titles of the PowerPoints and their URLs.

Topic B: You're a volunteer at an organization that gathers information about the dental care needs of Hispanic children in California. You want to create a presentation for this group. To get ideas, you'd like to find some PowerPoints on the subject. Search for some, and select two. On your Word document, give the titles of the PowerPoints and their URLs.

See the Hints page for Exercise 3.


EXERCISE 4: Blogs

Topic A: It's one thing to gather academic information about methamphetamine, but you would also like to sample what "ordinary" people say about it and its effects on teeth. Find some blogs where people write about their personal experiences. On your Word document, copy a quotation from one of the blogs and give the URL and the date.

Topic B: You have heard that there is discussion in Watsonville about adding fluoride to city water. You'd like to tap into the thoughts and opinions of a variety of people on the topic. Find some blogs where people write about fluoride and Watsonville. On your Word document, copy a quotation from one of the blogs and give the URL and the date.

See the Hints page for Exercise 4.


EXERCISE 5 : Quality Web sites
and Images

Topic A: Find two quality Web sites about methamphetamine and its effects on teeth. Find an image on the same topic. On your Word document, put the title of the two Web pages you select and their URLs. Transfer the image to your Word document.

Topic B: Find two quality Web sites about dental care in Watsonville for Latinos. Find an image about dental care and children (doesn't have to be in Watsonville). On your Word document, put the title of the two Web pages you select and their URLs. Transfer the image to your Word document.

See the Hints page for Exercise 5.


EXERCISE 6: Videos

Both Topic A and Topic B:

To find videos, two of the largest search tools are Blinkx and YouTube.

1. Go to Blinkx or YouTube and search for videos about dental hygiene.

2. Go to your Word document. Type the title of the video you sampled and say what you thought of it.


More new stuff

There is a lot of full text on the Web, and more coming everyday. Google offers a database of journal articles, and a database of digitized books.

To illustrate, I am going to search The Journal of Periodontology using MEDLINE and pick up some words from an abstract of a recent article.

I pick up the phrase "controlled-release doxycycline" and want to see what full text resources on the Web also use that phrase.

Book Database

Google's book database is at books.google.com. If I search for that phrase in Google books, I bring up information about 13 books that use those specific words.

Scholarly journal database

Google's scholarly journal database is called Scholar at scholar.google.com.

If you go to the Advanced search mode, you can apply various limits; for example, search for articles only published in the last few years -- or click to limit by when published.

So much is emerging on the Web. Stay tuned in!!

J. Wylie and T. N. Smalley;rev. 6/2011, G. Romero

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip