Recommended Political Science Websites
C-SPAN : Congress, Politics, U.S. History Live TV and Radio, includes C-SPAN Classroom
- Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress: 1774 to Present
- Budget of the U.S. Government (Government Printing Office)
- Center on Congress (Indiana University)
- Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) World Factbook, declassified documents, and other resources
- Congress.org A nonpartisan news and information Web site devoted to encouraging civic participation.
- Contact Your Government (USA.gov)
Links to contact information for federal agencies, officials and offices.
- Core Documents of Our Democracy (U.S. Government Printing Office)
- C-SPAN C-SPAN is a private, nonprofit company, created in 1979 by the cable television industry as a public service. Its mission is to provide public access to the political process.
- Factcheck.org A nonpartisan, nonprofit "consumer advocate" for voters that monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
- FDsys (Government Printing Office)
FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications.
The gateway to statistics from more than 100 U.S. Federal agencies.
Resources related to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
- GovSpeak: A Guide to Government Acronyms & Abbreviations
- National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
The official repository of documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government.
- PolitiFact (Tampa Bay Times) - Pulitzer-prize winning fact-checking journalism website. Includes the Truth-O-Meter
- Project Vote Smart
- Resources for Legislative Researchers (THOMAS)
- CONGRESS.GOV United States Legislative Information.
- United States Government Manual (Government Printing Office)
The official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.
- USA.gov The U.S. government's official Web portal.
- Women in Congress
Major Political Parties from Encyclopedia Britannica
- American Presidency Project -- Links to information and documents on all U.S. presidents
- Congress.org -- Find your federal, state, and local representatives, and much more
- Inaugural Words -- Information on frequent words in the inaugural addresses of all U.S. presidents
- Living Room Candidate -- Presidential Campaign Commercials from 1952 to present. Searchable by Election year, issue, type of commercial (e.g. fear, real people, backfire, documentary) from the American Museum of the Moving Image
- Public Agenda Online -- "Offers a nonpartisan briefing on policy and polling; a digest of news, legislation, and studies..."
- ThisNation: The American Government and Politics Portal -- Original legal documents and much more
- Thomas -- Law and legislative information sources; from the Library of Congress
- Scholarly Societies Project -- Political Science Societies