This is the "Find Websites" page of the "Religion Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religion Research Guide  

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2017 URL: http://cabrillo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=323136 Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Religious Studies Web Sites

Things to keep in mind when using information about religions on the Internet . . .
 
Like all web sites, web sites on religions need to be evaluated for credibility and reliability. For those sites that are not affiliated with a religious group or organization, the best way to evaluate the site is by considering the credentials of the site's creator(s) (e.g., does he or she have an advanced degree in the subject matter covered by the site?) and/or the reputation of the site's sponsoring organization (e.g., is the site affiliated with a recognized and respected educational institution?).
 
Sites that are affiliated with religious groups and organizations must be evaluated differently. Such sites are often useful as primary sources of information, in the sense that they provide first-hand, factual information about the beliefs of a particular religious group or organization. However, while a site of this type is likely to be factual with respect to the beliefs of a particular group, it may not be factual in any other sense (e.g., historical or scientific accuracy). For this reason, the claims found on religiously affiliated sites must be approached with suspicion and interpreted critically.

General Directories (Guides to Religious Studies Resources on the Internet)

NOTE: See web sites listed under Asian Religions , Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Paganism and Witchcraft, and Philosophy of Religion for links to specialized directories. 

  • Faiths and Practices (Yahoo Directory)
    Links to web sites affiliated with religious groups and organizations. The information found on such sites may be considered primary source information about a particular religious group or organization. As sources for academic research, the claims on religious sites must be approached with suspicion and interpreted critically.
  • INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
    Type a keyword in the search box to find relevant online materials
  • Internet Public Library: Religion and Theology
    A "best of the Web" directory of Web sites selected by librarians
  • Intute: Religion & Theology
    Links to internet resources on religion and theology, compiled by a national team of subject specialists from universities across the UK. Lists and review the very best web resources to help you with your studies and research.
  • Religion Explorer
    Directory of web sites related to religions as well as news headlines on religious topics (see the "News" tab)
  • Religious Resources: A Directory of Internet Rescources for All Major Religions
    Broad coverage of religions with an emphasis on Christian resources
  • Religious Worlds
    An information source about religions and religious studies for scholars and students
  • Virtual Religion Index
    A comprehensive list of religion-related websites. Hyperlinks are provided not only to homepages but to major directories and documents.
  • Wabash Center: Internet Guide to Religion
    A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion: syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, Web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, software, etc.

General Coverage

  • The Association of Religion Data Archive
    The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.
  • Overview of World Religions
    Articles on world religions organized by tradition and geographic region
  • ReligionFacts
    Claims to provide free, reliable information — "just the facts" — on religions. Includes articles on a wide variety of world religions, both ancient and modern, as well as "ways of life," philosophies, mind-body teachings, and even some anti-religion systems like ancient Epicureanism and modern atheism.
  • The Religious Movements Homepage Project
    This is an archived version of the site while it is being moved to a different server. It includes detailed profiles of more than two hundred different religious groups and movements.
  • Religious Tolerance.org
    The site welcomes religious conservatives, liberals, mainliners, pagans, progressives, secularists, etc. Tries to explain accurately the full diversity of religious beliefs, worldviews, and systems of morality, ethics, and values in the U.S. and Canada.

Asian Religions

  • Access to Insight: Readings in Theravada Buddhism
    A web site dedicated to providing accurate, reliable, and useful information concerning the practice and study of Theravada Buddhism, as it has been handed down through the Pali canon and the Buddhist community
  • Archive of Indological Resources Online
    Directory of Indological resources compiled by Prof. Gudrun Bühnemann at The University of Wisconsin-Madison.
  • Asia for Educators
    Coverage encompasses Asian history, culture, geography, art, and literature. Designed as a resource for both students and faculty at the undergraduate and graduate levels.
  • buddhanet.net: Buddhist Education and Information Network
    Literature, meditation instruction, internet directory, organization directory, and other resources to support Buddhist practitioners. Site is affiliated with the Theravada tradition, but claims to be non-sectarian and inclusive of all Buddhist traditions.
  • East Asian History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
    Links to primary and secondary sources on East Asian history and culture.
  • Essential Readings on Chinese Philosophy
    A bibliography of secondary readings in English on Chinese philosophy compiled by Prof. Bryan W. Van Norden (Vassar College)
  • India Virtual Library
    Directory to a wide range of internet resources on India, including religions, languages, history, current events, etc.
  • International Research Institute for Zen Buddhism
    Includes a sizeable etext archive of Zen related documents.
  • Internet Indian History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
    Links to primary and secondary sources on Indian history and culture.
  • Michael Witzel's Home Page
    Michael Witzel is an Indologist at Harvard University. His web site includes links to some of his scholarly publications available on the internet. The site is a great resource for information on Vedic Hinduism.
  • Resources for the Study of Buddhism
    A directory of online resources on Buddhism. Links compiled by Prof. Ron Epstein (formerly at San Francisco State University).
  • The Spirits of Chinese Religion
    An excerpt from Donald S. Lopez's "Religions of China in Practice" (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1996). Includes overviews of the major religious traditions of China (Confucianism, Daoism, Buddhism, and Chinese popular religion).
  • Taoism Initiation Page
    An introduction to Philosophical Taoism. Includes papers and articles classified by topic, such as "What is Taoism?" and "What are the Taoist sources?"
  • Taoism Virtual Library
    Directory to a wide range of internet resources on Taoism and its cultural context. Includes links to information on Taoist texts, Chinese philosophy, Taoism and the arts, the martial arts, etc.
  • The Tibetan & Himalayan Library
    Publishes websites, information services, and networking facilities relating to the Tibetan plateau and southern Himalayan regions

Christianity

Islam

  • Hypertext Qur'an
    From the Internet Sacred Text Archive. Links together a number of versions of the Qur'an: the text in Unicode, the text in Arabic using embedded gifs with the Yusuf Ali translation, the Yusuf Ali in a standalone English version, the 1880 Palmer English version, the 1876 Rodwell version, and the more recent Pickthall English version.
  • Al-Islam.org
    Al-Islam.org is created and maintained by the Ahlul Bayt Digital Islamic Library Project (DILP), a registered non-profit organisation that operates through the collaborative effort of volunteers based in many countries around the world. Its objectives are to digitize and present on the internet quality Islamic resources, related to the history, law, practice, and society of the Islamic religion and the Muslim peoples, with particular emphasis on Twelver Shia Islamic school of thought.
  • Islam and Islamic Studies Resources
    Information for the study of Islam, Qur'an, Hadith, the Sunnah, Shi'ism, heterodox movements, Sufism and Sufi poetry, Islam in the modern world, militant Islam, jihad, Islamist or extremist Muslims, terrorism, Islam in Iraq, Muslim women, Islamic art, architecture, music, Islamic history, theology, philosophy, and Arabic and other Islamic languages such as Persian.

Judaism

Paganism and Witchcraft

  • The Salem Witchcraft Site
    Provides data about certain aspects of the outbreak and demonstrates how this data can be used to further our understanding of the Salem witchcraft trials of 1692
  • Paganism/Witchcraft
    Annotated list of web sites on paganism and witchcraft, compiled by Scott A. Leonard, Youngstown State University

Philosophy of Religion

  • Are Christian Beliefs Properly Basic?
    A critical examination of Alvin Plantinga's claim that Christian beliefs can be justified even without any evidence for them.
  • Essential Readings on Chinese Philosophy
    A bibliography of secondary readings in English on Chinese philosophy compiled by Prof. Bryan W. Van Norden (Vassar College)
  • Philosophy & Religion Websites
    Links compiled by Dr. George Cronk, Department of Philosophy & Religion, Bergen Community College
  • Philosophy of Religion
    Concise explanations of classic arguments in the philosophy of religion, including arguments for the existence of God, arguments for agnosticism, and arguments for atheism.

Primary Sources: Sacred Texts

What are primary sources?

  • Augustine: Texts and Translations
  • Bibles.net
    Searchable & browsable Bibles in numerous translations & languages
  • From Primitives to Zen
    Mircea Eliade's anthology of primary source writings organized by theme ("Gods, Goddesses and Supernatural Beings," "Myths of Creation and Origin," "Death, Afterlife and Eschatatology," etc.)
  • Hypertext Qur'an
    From the Internet Sacred Text Archive. Links together a number of versions of the Qur'an: the text in Unicode, the text in Arabic using embedded gifs with the Yusuf Ali translation, the Yusuf Ali in a standalone English version, the 1880 Palmer English version, the 1876 Rodwell version, and the more recent Pickthall English version.
  • Internet Sacred Text Archive
    Translations of religious texts from the world's religions organized by religious tradition.
  • The Lankavatara Sutra
    A foundational text of Mahayana Buddhism, translated by one of the world's most respected Buddhologists, D.T. Suzuki. Includes an introduction that provides a systematic overview of the text's content.
  • Sacred & Other Religious Texts
    Links from the Internet Public Library. See the left side bar to locate texts from specific traditions.

Religion and the Media

Religion in America

  • The Pluralism Project at Harvard University
    Research and resources on religious diversity in America; offers articles, online resource databases, profiles of religious centers, statistics and interfaith/religious diversity news

Statistics

  • adherents.com
    A growing collection of over 43,870 adherent statistics and religious geography citations
  • The Association of Religion Data Archive
    The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.

Subject Guide Creator

Profile Image
Randall Studstill
Contact Info
Reference Desk Hours: Mon. 8:00 AM-12:30 PM
Phone: 479-6163 (Fall and Spring semesters only)
e-mail: rastudst@cabrillo.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip