Asian Pacific American History & Culture

Sewing Seeds:  Filipino American Stories From The Pajaro Valley

Museum of Art and History - Solari Gallery, 2nd Floor

April 12 - August 4, 2024

Sowing Seeds: Filipino American Stories from the Pajaro Valley explores Filipino labor and migration to the Pajaro Valley from the 1930s to the present. The exhibition brings together oral history, archival materials, and contemporary works of art to feature multidimensional narratives across four themes: labor, gender, conflict, and memory. Sowing Seeds celebrates the perseverance of a Filipino American community to transform the Pajaro Valley into a home in the face of racism and exclusion.

"Sowing Seeds." Santa Cruz Museum of Art and History, 2024, santacruzmah.org/exhibitions/sowing-seeds.

Books, Articles & More

• Cabrillo Library Databases  Search subject databases such as America:  History & Life, Literature Resource Center, and U.S. Newsstream.

Primary Sources:  Library Collections

Primary Sources: Digital Collections

• California Cultures: Asian Americans -- primary from California libraries and museums

• Calisphere:  Japanese American Relocation Digtial Archive -- primary sources from California libraries & museums

• Asian Pacific American Heritage Month -- exhibits & digital collections from National Libraries & Museums

• Digital Public Library of America -- primary sources from libraries across the U.S.

• Library of Congress -- primary sources

• Docs Teach -- primary sources from the National Archives

• Chinese Railroad Workers Project--exhibits & digitial collections from Stanford University 

Primary Sources: Museums

• Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center
• Asian Art Museum
• Museum of Chinese in America (MOCA)
• Japanese American National Museum

Pew Research Center:  Asian Americans

U.S. Census:  Statistics

• U.S. Census Bureau's American Community Survey contains current statistics for Asians and specific ethnic groups. Data by Topic includes Race and Ethnicity.

UCLA Asian American Studies Center: Statistics

• Statistical Portrait of Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Other Pacific Islanders

Library Resources:

 Books & Articles:

• Driven by Fear: Epidemics and Isolation in San Francisco's House of Pestilence
•  Asian American Studies Now a Critical Reader
• "Seven Reasons to Care About Racism and COVID-19 and Seven Things to Do to Stop It.” 
• “Racial Violence Against Asian Americans.” 
• “Anti-Asian Xenophobia and Asian American COVID-19 Disparities.”
• "Discrimination in the United States: Experiences of Asian Americans.”

Videos

• How Coronavirus Is Stoking Racism Against Asian People
• REMEMBER. RECORD. RESPECT: History of Anti-AAPI Violence and Discrimination

News Sources: Anti-Asian Sentiment & COVID-19

• ​​​​Asian Americans have been verbally and physically attacked, shunned during pandemic
• Asian Americans reported 3,800 hate-related incidents during the pandemic
• ‘Hate is learned’: Tracing the history of anti-Asian violence in America
• Asian-Americans Are Being Attacked. Why Are Hate Crime Charges So Rare?
• Asian American community battles surge in hate crimes stirred from COVID-19

Reports & Statistics
Learn more about the recent wave of attacks against the AAPI community and the intersection between misogyny and white supremacy in these two publications:

• Stop AAPI Hate National Report
• When Women are the Enemy: The Intersection of Misogyny and White Supremacy
• Anti-Asian Hate Crime in U.S. Rises During Pandemic Year