LibGuides: ENGL 1A Putnam: Find Sources

Find Sources

Also known as "Research Articles," Scholarly Articles," "Peer-Reviewed Articles," or "Academic Articles," these are:

Written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.
- "Review" means the article is approved by other experts before publication
Usually focused on a narrow subject or a single case study
Intended for an academic audience

Find Journal Articles

Science Database This link opens in a new window
Articles from scientific journals
PLOS ONE This link opens in a new window
Free resource from the Public Library of Science, contains scholarly scientific articles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, & newspapers
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Search across almost all of the library databases at the same time.
JSTOR Essential This link opens in a new window
Foundational journals in the humanities and social sciences
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports on public policy issues
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, company/industry/country profiles, SWOT, case studies, market research.

OneSearch is a tool that allows you to search many Library collections at the same time.

OneSearch works well when you want to access a wide variety of sources at once, and is a good tool when starting your research. OneSearch is convenient, but like Google, yields an overwhelming number of results. Be prepared to use the limiters on the left to refine and focus your results.

Watch this 3-minute video for an overview of how to search and refine your results in OneSearch.

Cabrillo Databases A-Z

Watch this brief overview of how to search in the Science database.

Cabrillo databases A-Z

Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database with journals, magazines, and newspapers on almost any topic. A good place to start your research!

Watch the videos below for an overview of how to search and cite articles in Academic Search Complete.

Cabrillo Databases A-Z

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, company/industry/country profiles, SWOT, case studies, market research.

Watch the video below
Search for sources in CQ Researcher using your keywords

News Sources

Intended for a general audience
Written by journalists
Reviewed by one or more editors for quality and accuracy
Provide information on a recent event or topic of interest
Provide the perspectives of average people, not experts

Find News Sources

U.S. Newsstream Free access to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and many other newspapers.
America's News Free access to local news such as the Santa Cruz Sentinel, San Jose Mercury News, and the San Francisco Chronicle.
Google News Searches free online newspapers.

seaweed floating in the ocean with sun on the water

Research Centers

Pew Research Center - nonpartisan fact tank with current polls & data on public policy issues
Public Policy Institute of California - nonpartisan fact tank current polls & data on California
RAND Corporation - research & analysis of international policy issues from the nonprofit RAND corporation

Science, Health, & Environment

AskNature - a database of nature's solutions to human design problems from the Biomimicry Institute
Centre for Sustainable Design - from the University for the Creative Arts in the UK
Environmental Protection Agency - Research on human health & the environment from the federal government
Energy Information Administration & Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy - from the federal Department of Energy
Green Design Institute - from Carnegie Mellon
National Institutes of Environmental Health Sciences - Research from the National Institute of Health
National Center for Environmental Health - from the Center for Disease Control & Prevention
World Health Organization- Environmental health
Green California - from the state of California
Santa Cruz County Environmental Health - From the Santa Cruz County Health Services
Santa Cruz County Assessment Project - in-depth data from surveys and community organizations on quality of life in Santa Cruz from the United Way
Santa Cruz Public Library's Community Information Database - a database of human service resources available to people in Santa Cruz County

Citations

Image of seaweed by Naja Bertolt Jensen on Unsplash

ENGL 1A Putnam

Treaties, Protocols, Agreements

Citation Tools