These Canvas modules introduce the topics below using primary sources. They can be imported from Canvas Commons.
Aptos History MuseumArtifacts and archival materials related to the history of Aptos, including local people, parks, buisnesses, and events.
Capitola MuseumArtifacts and archival materials related to the history of Capitola, including historic structures, events, photographs, and more.
Friends of Santa Cruz State ParksPartners with California State Parks to support local state parks and beaches, including historic sites such as the Castro Adobe, Wilder Ranch, and Santa Cruz Mission.
Pajaro Valley Historial AssociationPreserves buildings, documents, and artifacts related to the history of the Pajaro Valley. Historic buildings include the Bockius-Orr House and Gardne, the Borina Archive, the Carriage House, and the Tank House. Collections include family papers, oral histories, photographs, clothing, ephemera, and local city, school, and business records.
San Lorenzo Valley MuseumArtifacts and archival materials on the history of the San Lorenzo Valley, including photographs, tools, ephemera and stories of local residents.
Highlights our region's diverse plant, animal, and human communities. Collections include fossils, shells, minerals, animals, insects, and materials related to ethnography, history, surfing, and the arts. Collections may be accessed for study upon request. See Collections Up-Close for information & updates.
Santa Cruz Public LibraryPhotographs, newspapers, maps, and ephemera, as well as articles about historic organizations, buildings, figures and events.
Santa Cruz Museum of Art & HistoryMAH history collections include their exhibits and archives, as well as publications, podcasts, and blog posts on local history.
UCSC Special Collections & ArchivesPreserves the cultural heritage of the Santa Cruz region and the history of UCSC. Collections include photographs, artists' books and literary archives, the Grateful Dead Archive, Lick Observatory, and the Regional History Project.
Watsonville Public Library: California Agricultural Workers' History CenterLocated in the Main Library downtown, the Center is designed to support research on the history of diverse gropus working in California agriculture. The center includes circulating and reference collections, historic newspapers, geneaology resources and other historic papers.
Scotts Valley Historical Society