Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History 17A Smyth

Find Sources

Articles are written by different authors and for different readers:

  • Scholarly articles are written and reviewed by scholars and provide new research, analysis, or information about a specific topic.  They are written for researchers like yourself.  They are also sometimes called academic or peer-reviewed articles.
  • Magazine articles are written by professional writers for a general audience.  These include magazines like National Geographic, Time, and People.
  • Newspaper articles are written by journalists for a general audience.  Local papers, like the Santa Cruz Sentinel, focus on local issues and readers.  They are generally short and are written quickly to focus on the latest news.

Find Articles:

  • OneSearch  searches across all library collections.  Refine your search to focus on History.
  • American History & Life  scholarly journals & magazines on U.S. history.  Limit your search to full-text.
  • Academic Search Complete  scholarly journals, magazines, and newspaper on many topics.  Limit your search to full-text.
  • MasterFile Complete  magazine and news sources.  Limit your search to full-text.

woman reading a book in a library

Unlike articles, books:

  • Are written on a broader, general subject
  • May contain a collection of related chapters by different authors
  • Contain less recent information

Remember: you may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!

Find eBooks:

  • EBSCO eBooks Collection  
    • Search using your keywords
    • To read your book online, select PDF Full Text
    • From there you can cite, print, or email yourself chapters of the book

PDF of eBook about Harriet Tubman from EBSCO eBook Collection

 

Find Films at Cabrillo

  • Films on Demand  streaming video for thousands of educational films & documentaries.  Access from anywhere with your WebAdvisor/Canvas ID and password!

OneSearch